The heart of the matter

Valentine’s Day has come and gone, but hopefully you haven’t gotten rid of all the trappings just yet…

One of my favorite gifts on Valentine’s Day is my box of chocolates. Yum – I love the chocolate, BUT… the box is what I really want. I love those little heart shaped boxes because they are good for so many great things like object lessons.  So after you eat the candy, SAVE THE BOX!

One year I covered my box with all sorts of ribbon trim, creating this darling heart-shaped box. I happened to have a lot of the lace and ribbon trims  that I purchased from a ribbon outlet store so it only cost pennies to make.

What a great object lesson it made as I showed the kids how we think we’re okay on the outside, but we really have sin in our hearts. I invited them to each take a little baggie of dirt out of the box when I opened it up. You can also do the reverse of that idea by roughing up the outside of the box and then showing them what a difference it makes when Jesus comes into our hearts – the inside is white and clean.

I also used it for a devotional talk  about how God loves us  by filling it with Hershey kisses. Each kiss had a scripture attached to it with words of Love from the Lord. As it was passed around the room, each lady took one kiss and read the verse, sharing how that verse was meaningful to her. Oh taste and see that the Lord is good!

How about using the heart box as a prayer reminder. Have each person write down a person they want to pray for and place the name in the box. Let them know that these people are now close to God’s heart as we remember them in prayer.

I’m sure you can come up with some great ideas to use your heart boxes too! E-mail me and let me know what you do with your boxes. I’d love to hear your ideas.

Hmmm – now how can I use that neat Christmas tree candy box I got last year…..

Leave a Reply

