Just for one

Would you still teach Sunday School or Children’s Church if you had only one student?

Many weeks of late I have grappled with this question. I had a class of 5-6 teenagers, but several of them graduated in the last two years until it shrunk to 2 youth. We still have a small handful of children whose mom was their teacher so I stepped back into the elementary age bracket to give her a respite from teaching.

However, I have also been dealing with some physical illness issues for the past two years and trying to keep on teaching each week. Several times I have become discouraged and tempted to give up teaching, but each time I feel a strong nudge from the Spirit of the Lord, urging me to continue – even if there’s only one child there.

I couldn’t understand why I felt so strongly about being there  for those kids. I mean, after all, most people retire to let others take over when they start getting older and especially if they are dealing with illness. But then I read this verse today in my daily devotions:

[ Psalm 116 ] I love the Lord, for he heard my voice; he heard my cry for mercy. Because he turned his ear to me, I will call on him as long as I live.

Psalm 116:1-2 NIV

All of a sudden it hit me. I don’t want to give up teaching because I was 8 years old when a Sunday School teacher told me about God’s love for me at a time when I was struggling with some pretty nasty issues of abuse in my life. Her words helped me to call on Jesus one night. I ran into his arms and he has been my Friend, Comforter, Savior and Guide ever since on this journey.

In my heart I  know I must keep teaching and sharing that message of the love of Jesus as long as I can – even if there’s just one in my class and even if I’m having a rough day physically.

Jesus took time to minister to me –  one hurting scared little girl and it made a difference in my life. How can I do any less? What about you? Would you continue to minister to just one child?

Leave a Reply

